So I was wondering what is the Aircraft categories all about because from my previous questions answer I got to know about something called Cat D type aircraft so it made me curious to know what are the different types of aircraft categories and which one is the A321-271NX because it happens to be special for me !


1 Answer 1


The code is for the exact variant for this Airbus:

  • A321: This is an Airbus A321, the longest variant of the A320 family.

  • 27*: It comes with PW1100 engines (which makes it a neo).

  • 271: The exact engine variant, which can be found in the TCDS (Type Certificate Data Sheet):

    PW1133G-JM Geared Turbo Fan jet engines (MOD 161002)

  • N: Added for all neo variants.

  • X: This means the aircraft has Cabin Flex, which allows the operator more freedom in choosing emergency exits:

    these doors’ configuration flexibility are there to enable all customers’ operational needs without compromising on cabin comfort

    Cabin Flex


The "Cat D" you mentioned is the approach speed categorisation:

Category Approach Speed
A < 91 kt
B 91-120 kt
C 121-140 kt
D 141-165 kt
E 166-210 kt

The Airbus A321 can be in approach category C or D, depending on the maximum landing weight:

A321 has Approach Category C to 75.5 tonnes MLW and D beyond that to 77.8 tonnes.

(SKYbrary - Airbus A321)

You can find the maximum landing weights for the A321neo in the Airbus Aircraft Characteristics Document: A321neo weights

All maximum landing weights for the A321neo are above 75.5t, which would make them all Cat D.


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.