2
$\begingroup$

Trying to stay fresh on instrument regs, and I'm reviewing when you are able to bypass a procedure turn. I'm reading that if you perform a teardrop entry for a hold, you may. Does that mean you have to do the entire hold before proceeding the approach when you do a parallel entry? enter image description here

$\endgroup$
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Can you provide the reference for where you read that? $\endgroup$ – Steve V. Dec 11 '15 at 4:55
  • $\begingroup$ It was from an online document my cfi showed me. $\endgroup$ – Blake.W Dec 11 '15 at 9:08
  • $\begingroup$ In that case, yes, the "teardrop" in your question and my answer is not the same one that you do when entering a hold. You might want to edit the title of your question to reflect that. $\endgroup$ – Steve V. Dec 11 '15 at 15:28
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ The rule of thumb is overfly the holding fix twice. The first time cross it fly the proper entry and the second time you pass it you are on course and continue with the procedure. $\endgroup$ – casey Dec 11 '15 at 16:03
  • $\begingroup$ That is a good rule of thumb, thank you. $\endgroup$ – Blake.W Dec 11 '15 at 21:21
2
$\begingroup$

I suspect you are thinking of AIM 5-4-8 (b)(2) [page 5-4-31], which states:

  1. When a teardrop procedure turn is depicted and a course reversal is required, this type turn must be executed.

If so, have a look at the Instrument Flying Handbook, page 7-31. The teardrop procedure turn is not referring to the same thing as a teardrop entry into a hold-in-lieu-of-procedure turn, it's something different entirely.

enter image description here

$\endgroup$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.